The ax "Hemisphere" was acquired from the Greek indigenous Hemisphairion which describes one-half of a spherical body. A hemisphere can be defined as any kind of circle that has been drawn approximately the Earth and also divides the planet into two similar halves. Four various hemispheres room generally thought about by geographers. These space the Northern, Southern, Eastern, and Western hemispheres.

You are watching: What divides the earth into northern and southern hemispheres

The Equator is the 0° latitude heat at the earth center, i beg your pardon divides the earth into the Northern and Southern hemispheres. The element Meridian or the 0° longitude line and also the antemeridian or the 180° longitude line division the earth into the Eastern and also Western hemispheres.

The Earth"s equator, latitudes and longitude.
Therefore, the locations that are located to the north of the Equator are taken into consideration as a component of the north Hemisphere, if those areas that room in the southern of the Equator are thought about as a component of the southern Hemisphere.

The only country to be located in all the 4 hemispheres is the island nation of Kiribati. It has actually been observed that a total of 12 nations are located in both the Northern and Southern Hemispheres of the Earth.

Northern Hemisphere

A significant portion of the earth’s landmass, around 67.3%, is situated in the northern Hemisphere. This hemisphere includes the whole parts of north America, main America, and Europe and the northern part of south America, around two-thirds of northern Africa, and major parts of mainland Asia.

The countries of Canada, Mexico, the united States, the Caribbean Islands, and the West Indies space a component of the continent of phibìc America and also are entirely placed in the north Hemisphere. The nations of Colombia, French Guiana, Guyana, Suriname, and Venezuela are situated north of the Equator in the continent of southern America. Brazil and also Ecuador are the only two south American nations that space partially located in the northern Hemisphere. Around 32 African nations are wholly or partly situated in the northern hemisphere, along with around 54 asian countries.

About 60.7% that the planet’s water is located in the north Hemisphere. The only ocean that is totally located in this hemisphere is the Arctic Ocean. The other oceans, specific the Pacific, Atlantic, and also the Indian Ocean have actually portions both in the Northern as well as in the southerly hemisphere.

Due come the tilt of the earth’s axis, the north Hemisphere experiences the summer season native June come September and also the winter season from December come March. It has actually been approximated that around 87% of the Earth’s populace lives in the northern Hemisphere.

Southern Hemisphere

About 32.7% of the earth landmass is located in the southern Hemisphere. This hemisphere contains the entirety of Australia, new Zealand, and also Antarctica as well as significant parts of southern America, about one-third that Africa, and some islands of mainland Asia. About 80.9% that the Earth’s southern Hemisphere is spanned with water. Major portions the the Pacific, Atlantic, and also Indian oceans are situated in the southern hemisphere. In addition to this, the only ocean that is entirely located here is the southerly Ocean.

The southerly Hemisphere experiences a milder climate compared to the northern Hemisphere and experiences the summer season from December to February and also the winter season indigenous June come August. It has actually been approximated that much more than 800 million people reside in the southern Hemisphere. Jakarta, Rio de Janeiro, Johannesburg, Sydney, and Melbourne are several of the largest metropolitan locations that are situated in the southern Hemisphere.

See more: Estimate The Weight Of A Cubic Yard Of Concrete _Slab_Volume_Calculator

Eastern Hemisphere

The areas that are located in the east of the element Meridian and the west that the antemeridian are taken into consideration to it is in a part of the eastern Hemisphere. Regularly referred to as the "Oriental Hemisphere" and also occasionally in a cultural and geopolitical sense the "Old World," this hemisphere includes major parts of Europe, Africa, Asia, and also Australia. A part of Antarctica is likewise located here. The east Hemisphere incorporates a greater land area contrasted to the of the western Hemisphere. It has actually been estimated that around 82% the the Earth’s population resides in the eastern Hemisphere.

Standing ~ above opposite political parties of the element Meridian at Greenwich, UK. The Eastern and Western Hemispheres lie to the right and also left of the prime Meridian in the above image.

Western Hemisphere

The areas that are located in the west the the element Meridian and the east of the antemeridian are considered as parts of the western Hemisphere. This hemisphere has the entire portions the North and also South America and also parts that Eurasia, Africa, Antarctica, and Oceania. The extreme eastern sheet of the Russian mainland is also a component of the west Hemisphere. Situated in the Andes mountain variety in Argentina is mount Aconcagua, which rises to an key of 6,960.8 m and is the highest possible mountain in the west Hemisphere.

There room some countries that are located in both the Eastern and also Western hemispheres. They room the unified Kingdom, united States, France, Spain, Burkina Faso, Algeria, Ghana, Mali, Togo, Fiji, Kiribati, and also Russia.