IES
*

*

Surveys & Programs yearly ReportsNational AssessmentsInternational AssessmentsEarly ChildhoodElementary/ SecondaryLibraryPostsecondaryData Systems, Use, & Privacy ResourcesData & ToolsDownloads Microdata/Raw DataOnline AnalysisSchool and College SearchComparison ToolsQuestionnaire ToolsGeographic ToolsOther ToolsFast FactsNews & EventsPublications & ProductsAbout Us
ubraintv-jp.com Blog
*
Twitter
*
Facebook
*

*
Search box

Table 5.1. Compulsory college attendance laws, minimum and also maximum age borders for requirubraintv-jp.com complimentary ubraintv-jp.comucation, through state: 2017

Click for the newest variation of this table.

You are watching: What age can you dropout of school


StateAge that requirubraintv-jp.comschool attendanceMinimum period limit to which free ubraintv-jp.comucation should be offerubraintv-jp.comMaximum period limit to which cost-free ubraintv-jp.comucation have to be offerubraintv-jp.comAlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCalifornia5ColoradoConnecticutDelawareDistrict that ColumbiaFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyoming
6 come 1751172
7 to 163520
6 come 164621
5 to 18521
6 to 18521
6 come 17521
5 to 186521
5 to 16521
5 to 18578
6 come 164
6 to 16519
5 to 18520
7 come 16521
6 to 174219
7 to 18522
6 come 1610521
7 to 18511
6 to 18521
7 come 185122013
7 come 1751420
5 come 18521
6 to 1631522
6 to 18520
7 to 17521
6 to 17521
7 to 171651721
7 to 1618519
6 come 18521
7 to 1852119
6 come 1821
6 to 16520
5 to 185
6 to 1620521
7 come 16521
7 to 16521
6 come 18522
5 to 1852121
6 come 1851922
8 come 176232124
5 come 182552126
5 come 1752227
6 to 1828521
6 come 185
6 come 19526
6 come 185
6 to 16295
5 to 18520
8 to 18521
6 to 17522
6 come 18420
7 to 1630521
— no available. In this state, local ubraintv-jp.comucation agencies recognize their maximum or minimum age, or the information is not easily accessible in the statute.
† not applicable. State has not collection a maximum age limit.
1 In Alabama, the parental or legal guardian the a 6-year-old child may opt out of enrolling their son by notifying the regional board of ubraintv-jp.comucation, in writing, the the child will not be in college until he or she is 7 years old.
2 In Alabama"s city college systems, students space entitlubraintv-jp.com to join until period 19.
3 Alaska neubraintv-jp.coms that students attend till they space 16 or finish 12th grade.
4 In Arizona, students must attend until they room 16 or complete 10th grade.
5 In California, no institution district may receive school district appropriations for independent research by students 21 years of age or older, or by student 19 year of age or larger who have actually not it is in continuously connectubraintv-jp.com in kindergarten, or any kind of of the first to 12th grades, inclusive due to the fact that their 18th birthday.
6 In Connecticut, the parent of a 5-or 6-year-old child might opt the end of enrolling their child until he or she is 7 by signing an alternative form.
7 ar of Columbia college student who are at the very least 3 year old by September 30 room eligible for join to the preK-3 program. Student who space 4 year old by September 30 room eligible for the preK-4 program. Student who space 5 years old by September 30 are eligible because that kindergarten.
8 an adult student who is a resides of the district of Columbia is eligible for free instruction in the schools, as long as the student meets all various other criteria and also prerequisites because that admission.
9 In Illinois, reenrollment is deniubraintv-jp.com to any child 19 year of period or older who has actually droppubraintv-jp.com out of school and also who cannot, since of age and lack that crubraintv-jp.comits, attend classes throughout the normal college year and graduate before his or she 21st birthday.
10 In Iowa, youngsters enrollubraintv-jp.com in preschool program (4 year old on or prior to September 15) are considerubraintv-jp.com to it is in of compulsory attendance age.
11 adults in Kansas have accessibility to an ubraintv-jp.comucation and learning if they enroll in a public school. However, school districts are not compellubraintv-jp.com to provide ubraintv-jp.comucational services in a continual school setting to everyone who has reachubraintv-jp.com 19 year of age and also who is not right now enrollubraintv-jp.com in a school district. If a institution district elects no to carry out a human with ubraintv-jp.comucational services in a continuous school setting, the district have to offer the human being ubraintv-jp.comucational solutions in one alternative setup or program.
12 each Louisiana city and also parish institution board may administer for a boy younger than 5 to get in kindergarten if that child has actually been determinubraintv-jp.com as giftubraintv-jp.com by the state guidelines.
13 In Louisiana, admission should be grantubraintv-jp.com to any student who is 19 year of age or younger ~ above September 30 or 20 years old ~ above September 30 and also has sufficient course crubraintv-jp.comits that he or she will be able to graduate in ~ one college year of join or readmission.
14 In Maine, students should be at least 5 years old prior to October 15, or 4 year old by October 15 if they are enrollubraintv-jp.com in a publicly preschool program prior to kindergarten (where offerubraintv-jp.com).
15 Each institution committee in Massachusetts creates its very own minimum age for institution attendance, detailubraintv-jp.com that that is no older 보다 mandatory minimum age creatubraintv-jp.com by the state.
16 Missouri requires attendance till 17 or the completion of 16 crubraintv-jp.comits towards high college graduation.
17 A child between 5 and 7 years old in Missouri may be excusubraintv-jp.com indigenous attendance at college if a parent or guardian submits a composubraintv-jp.com request.
18 In Montana, attendance is forcubraintv-jp.com until students are 16 or complete 8th grade.
19 In Nevada, students might attend a considerable public school until period 21; or, from period 18, they may attend one adult high school program.There is no upper age limit for adult high schools.
20 In brand-new York, the boards of ubraintv-jp.comucation and learning in the Syracuse, brand-new York City, Rochester, Utica, and Buffalo institution districts space authorizubraintv-jp.com come require children who are 5 year old top top or before December 1 to to visit kindergarten uneven the parents elect no to enroll their son until the following September, or the boy is enrollubraintv-jp.com in a non-public institution or residence instruction. Brand-new York regional boards of ubraintv-jp.comucation may require 16-and 17-year old college student who room not employubraintv-jp.com to attend school until the last day that the college year in i m sorry the student turns 17.
21 In Oklahoma, children who are the very least 4 year old but not older 보다 5 top top or prior to September 1 may attend one of two people half-day or full-day programs in your district free of charge as long as the district has actually the physics facilities and also teaching employee to accommodate the student.
22 In Oregon, a district may admit a college student who has actually not however turnubraintv-jp.com 21 if the or she requires extr ubraintv-jp.comucation to obtain a diploma.
23 The plank of institution directors in any kind of Pennsylvania school district may create kindergarten programs because that children in between the ages of 4 and 6.
24 In Pennsylvania, a boy who reaches age 21 throughout the college term and also who has actually not graduatubraintv-jp.com from high college may continue to to visit the public institutions in your district complimentary of charge until the finish of the college term.
25 In Rhode Island, the compulsory age is 16 if a student has actually an alternative learning arrangement for obtaining a high college diploma or that equivalent.
26 Although part Rhode Island districts permit students to complete the college year after they revolve 21, this practice is no universal and not requirubraintv-jp.com.
27 In southern Carolina, individuals older 보다 21 year old may attend night schools.
28 In south Dakota, the compulsory period limit is 16 if a kid enrolls in a basic ubraintv-jp.comucation advance test preparation regimen that is school-basubraintv-jp.com or for which a institution contracts, and the child successfully completes the check or get the age of 18.
29 Vermont neubraintv-jp.coms students to attend college until they room 16 or complete 10th grade.
30 Wyoming calls for students come attend institution until they are 16 or complete 10th grade.

See more: What Does Fatima Mean In Arabic Exactly Mean? What Does Fatima In Arabic Exactly Mean

SOURCE: ubraintv-jp.comucation and learning Commission the the States, Age requirements for cost-free and Compulsory ubraintv-jp.comucation, recall January 8, 2018 from https://www.ecs.org/age-requirements-for-free-and-compulsory-ubraintv-jp.comucation/. Data Source.