There are 12 teams who have never won a Super Bowl — and four of them haven’t even been to the big game.

You are watching: Teams that have never been to a super bowl

Super Bowl I kicked off on January 15, 1967. And while some of the teams listed have won “football” championships, none have won it all after ‘67 when it was given its hyperbolic moniker.

These four teams will have to wait another year for a chance to play in the big game. But they’re all used to that.


The Detroit Lions are one of the oldest football teams in the NFL, but they have never been to a Super Bowl.

The Portsmouth Spartans were founded in 1930 but moved across the Ohio border to Detroit in 1934 where they became the Lions. The team won an NFL championship against the New York Football Giants in 1935, and Detroit would go on to win three more in ‘52, ‘53, and ‘57, beating the Cleveland Browns every time.

See more: 1 Pint Of Blueberries Equals How Many Cups, What Is A Pint Of Berries

But the closest the Lions have ever been to a Super Bowl was one NFC Conference title tilt in 1992. Barry Sanders was quiet in the game, rushing for only 44 yards on 11 attempts. As a result, the Washington Football Team previously called a racist name walloped Detroit 41-10 at RFK Stadium. Washington would go on to win the Super Bowl that year. The Lions? They haven’t won a playoff game since.