*
Many parents who let their teenagers leave the residence alone to attend parties or cave out v friends frequently require that the teenagers be residence by a particular time. In addition to the curfews imposed by parents, Illinois law additionally has its very own curfew restrictions on juveniles. Under the Illinois kid Curfew Act, juveniles under the age of 17 years old are not allowed to continue to be in a public place or sometimes a business during curfew hours. Curfew hrs are 11:00 p.m. To 6:00 a.m. During the week, and 12:01 a.m. Come 6:00 a.m. On weekends.

You are watching: Driving curfew for 17 year old in illinois

Curfew violation is taken into consideration a minor offense punishable with a well of $500, and in some cases, community service for the parents of the minor that violated curfew. There room exceptions come the curfew restrictions, and a boy will have a defense to a curfew violation if:

The minor is in the agency of his parents, guardian, or one more person in fee of the minor in ~ the time;The minor was running an errand because that a parent or guardian;The minor was going to, or returning from work throughout curfew hours;The minor is involved in an emergency situation;The minor was at a political, religious, or school connected social activity; orThe boy is top top the sidewalk exterior his or she home, or a neighbor's house if the neighbor walk not call the police to complain about the minor's presence.

The curfew legislations do not use to married and emancipated minors.

Some cities and towns across the state may have much more restrictive curfew hours, and parents should check their regional ordinances to ensure the their youngsters are in compliance with the law. The curfew regulation may also impact the minor's capacity to drive throughout curfew hrs if the boy is no accompanied by a parent or guardian. The young may have his license or allow suspended because that driving without a parental or other adult in fee of him during curfew hours.

Police officers are compelled to asking the minor about the reason for his gift out throughout curfew hours prior to taking the in, in stimulate to identify if an exemption exists. Once police police officers pick up a minor for curfew violation, they usually call the minor's parent or guardian to come and collect the minor, and in part instances might drop the kid off at home. Minors space not normally jailed simply based upon a curfew violation.

See more: What Font Is Used In Undertale ? Undertale (Video Game 2015)

Contact us For legit Assistance

If you have a minor son who is charged with a criminal violation in Illinois, you require a criminal defense attorney with experience taking care of the unique problems in a youth criminal case. Because that a consultation, call our skilled Crystal Lake criminal defense attorneys at Botto Gilbert Lancaster, computer for a cost-free consultation.